The Life-Changing Magic of Letting Yourself Take Breaks

Karla Starr
7 min readMar 28, 2023

The Benefits of Being Inconsistent and Having a Psychologically Rich Life

I haven’t posted anything in a while. I mean, a while. I felt guilty at first — I broke my semi-consistent streak, ran the risk of appearing unprofessional, and creates a gap in the newsletter archives.

Plus, if the whole point of me writing online is to connect with like-minded individuals (anyone on a personal journey of self-discovery who also has a zero tolerance policy for bullshit; others who are tired of “That One Neat Trick,” the use of income as a proxy for success, overly simplistic self-help gurus, and rich white guys preaching that the real problem with the impoverished is a fixed mindset), shouldn’t I be writing weekly, if not daily? And I shouldn’t feel bad about my Big-Ass Break?

But to be honest, I don’t feel guilty or bad or weird or anything.

I feel great.

I spent a month traveling around Turkey (including a week spent working as a bartender on a boat). In lieu of posting all of the things on social media, I went the other way and took a break from excessive pixel usage and writing. I’ve read and played video games. I have spent an incalculable number of hours doing absolutely nothing and loving every minute.

I’ve lived, dammit. I just haven’t posted here.

Why We’re Obsessed With Consistency

--

--

Karla Starr

Speaker & author x2, inc. Making Numbers Count (w/ Chip Heath). Behavioral science, cultural history, numbers.